Rochester Images -> Pathfinders -> Town and Village Pathfinders  -> Hamlin

Living Off the Land

Harvesting the Collamer Orchard.

In 1852 the town of Clarkson was divided in half and a new town, named Union, was formed. Although its name was new, many people had already called the town home for several years. Aretas Hascall and his family were noted as the town's first permanent settlers in 1806. However, with vast swampy areas, dense forests and difficult travel conditions the region's population grew very slowly. As a tribute to Abraham Lincoln's first vice president, Hannibal Hamlin, the town of Union was renamed "Hamlin" in 1861. Six hamlets eventually bloomed within the town: Walker, North Hamlin (also known as Thomasville), Hamlin Station, Hamlin Center, Kendall Mills and Morton.

Hamlin borders Lake Ontario and is located in the northwest corner of Monroe County. It covers over 44 square miles, making it the county's second largest town in terms of size. With so much land at their disposal, town residents have utilized and beautified the land and its resources throughout the years. Use the links below to explore ways in which they have done so.






"Living Off the Land" was produced by Rochester Images, a department of the Rochester Public Library. It was funded by a grant from the New York State Archives and Records Administration for the town of Hamlin's Historian's Office. This pathfinder was written by Kathryn Heckle. Special thanks are extended to Mary E. Smith, Hamlin Town Historian, for her research assistance and to Colleen R. McBride of the Rochester Public Library.

| Next |