Rochester Images -> Pathfinders -> Architecture ->Adaptive Reuse->Ellwanger and Barry School #24
Building Name: Ellwanger Barry School No. 24
|Ellwanger and Barry School #24 operated in this building from 1913-1979.|
Street Address: Corner of Meigs Street and Linden Avenue
Present Use (2003): Condominiums
Heritage Status? On State and National Register of Historic Places
|Seen here after being converted to condominiums. The designers retained much of the exterior features and in fact benefited from the unique one-story design.|
Date Built: 1913, turned into condos in 1980.
Original Owner: Rochester City School District
Original Use: It was used by the school district (as an elementary school) from 1914 to 1979.
Subsequent Uses: Condos 1980 to the present
Design and Style: Mission/Spanish Revival
Architect/Builder: Edwin S. Gordon
Construction Materials: Stucco, red brick, tiled roof
The one-story structure was originally built with separate exits for each classroom, aiding the conversion process for developer Lowell Colvin in 1979, when the school closed. Each classroom was converted into a condominium unit (18 units total). Each unit has its own, separate street level entrance. The hallways of the school became kitchen and bathroom areas for each residence.
|Graduation certificate for Elmer Engelhardt, 1895||The first principal of School #24, Nellie F. Cornell. This is a page from "a souvenir program of the fiftieth anniversary of the school and Miss Cornell's 87th birthday.|
| Introduction | Next |
| Rochester Images | Central Library Home | LIBRA Home | LIBRAWeb |
Send comments to Webmaster
Monroe County (NY) Library System
115 South Ave., Rochester, NY 14604